Piggy Backing a Fuel Mgmt System on the ECU for a 3.8L

C2 and C4

Piggy Backing a Fuel Mgmt System on the ECU for a 3.8L

Postby HiWind » Sun Feb 03, 2013 10:13 am

First - apologies for the long post - ignore if time is short. Just trying to avoid guesswork from respondents.

Thanks for continuing! I should start with a little into: I bought my 1990 C2 with a 412HP (my Bosch dyno) 3.8L engine (993 RS Evo2 Cams etc..).
The car also weighs 1225kg with Recaros, aircon delete, lightweight flywheel, clutch & exhaust and a LSD - in short quite a nice package ;)
It new to me and I'm no expert so forgive any sillyness below .. I'll say thanks now as there's bound to be some :oops:

The RSE (Emulate/Emelia to her friends) has been used almost exclusively as a Auto-X car since 2006 ..
but I want a 50/50 track/road car .. without putting the weight back on. 8-)

The only small inhibitor to this is the off-throttle/low rev/idle performance ie for city driving. Yes, the cams aren't ideal
but they're not monstrous (IMO). The car doesn't idle well when cold and even when hot it sometimes (25% of time) drops off
ie below 500 rpm and then stall after its been driven hard and then comes to a stop ie like after exiting the highway. I have to
ease her down and Heel & Toe a bit to let the revs fall less extremely ie doesn't stall is it falls from 1.5k to 800 but does
if it falls from 3k to below 1k. Fun on the track, tiring in town to say the least.

The root issue in my mind is that the ECU has been unattached (see first 4 pics) with the engine/fuel mgmt
outsourced to an aftermarket solution.
dictator - box and wiring.jpg

The engine was built and installed locally 3 years ago by a guy who has now left a Porsche racing workshop to go to Fiat ..
so no support there. Shame for him :geek: What he did - PO was cutting costs to some degree - was to use a simple but effective
locally made Fuel Mgmt System (FMS)( made by some ex-VW Germans who now live here.